Glacier National Park and High Anxiety

Okay, I’m going to chalk this overreaction up to being tired. Today’s drive up the “Going to the Sun Road” was the most stressful thing I have ever done. I tried, no, I begged Bob to turn around or at least slow down to 10 mph but he said he didn’t want to hold up all the traffic. So he said.north to alaska 362

It started out so simple. A drive through the forest to a glacier. Up the mountain and down the other side, then back. Oh, had I only known. The forest with just glimpses of the mountain peaks was deceptive. Just as the road breached the tree I spotted what appeared to be little more than a cow trail, chiseled into the side of the mountain. The road narrowed, though still supposedly wide enough for two mini cars to pass continuing to climb upward, ever upward. As passenger I was sitting on the part of the truck that surely overhung the pavement with only two of our ten-ply tires holding onto the road. The drop was sheer, surely thousands of feet, even miles down to the valley.

It's a gradual climb and you don't realize how high it is until you are above the trees.

It’s a gradual climb and you don’t realize how high it is until you are above the trees.

On second thought…an overreaction? I think not. Even Matthew, sitting in relative safety behind driver Dad, was in fear of his life.

But.

We made it. Eventually, Bob was able to pry my fingers from the death grip I held on his arm.

We survived the “Going to the Sun Road.”

We saw the glacier at the top of the mountain. We experienced the alpine climate. And we headed back down. The other side, of course, and then around the base of the mountain, since there was no way in H E double-toothpicks I was going back.

Yes, I can now cross Glacier National Park off my ‘to do’ list. It’s pretty, green, has beautiful waterfalls that splash down on the road. You should go visit. My memories will last a lifetime.

The Survivors.

The Survivors.

Oh, and have some huckleberry ice cream when you get back to the safety of the valley.

Tomorrow morning we are going to visit one of Rebecca’s high school teachers who now lives near Missoula so we continued south to the big city (I jest, but this is the biggest city we have been in for more than three weeks). Bob wimped out on staying at the Jellystone Campground with Yogi Bear. He said it was too hot. So, with a sad Matthew, we found a motel for the night.

4 thoughts on “Glacier National Park and High Anxiety

  1. Glacier is one of my favorite NP’s…I’m glad you survived the going to the sun road…My sister and her husband did that road on their bicycles…Crazy right!!!

Leave a Reply

