Milepost Zero of the Al-Can

Oh, before I begin: Mr. Haney was on Green Acres. A popular 60’s show, which of course, I am far too young to remember.

A cute young caribou just nibbling alongside the road.

A cute young caribou just nibbling alongside the road.

Today we drove through some of the loneliest country yet. Yeah, I know I thought we’d already seen lonely. This stretch of the drive did have logging roads leading off every so often but that was about it. No scenic vistas. No picnic tables. No rest stops. Yes, that’s what I said. The picture below was the only restroom we saw until almost in Dawson Creek itself. Yes, it is a real outhouse. Funny, we thought we were driving into civilization.100_1559

So we made it to milepost zero of the Alaska-Canada Highway. We took our pictures and then talked to the friendly tourist office workers who reminded us we were heading into the National Parks of Jasper and Banff on Canada Day. They did a few checks and discovered, what they feared, that there were no campsites available and few rooms due to the holiday.

We made it!

We made it!

Note to self: Check foreign country holidays before leaving on vacation…

Our decision was made for us. We needed to get closer to Jasper because an early arrival might make it easier to see both parks and who knew where we’d end up. It was possible we’d end up sleeping in the truck. Rats and double rats.

The good thing was we found a nice RV center in Grand Prairie a few more hours down the road and were able to wash clothes.

I will make you a rhubarb cobbler if you know the secret of why this picture is important to me!

I will make you a rhubarb cobbler if you know the secret of why this picture is important to me!

Tomorrow we visit Alberta’s National Parks.

grand prarie

2 thoughts on “Milepost Zero of the Al-Can

    • One of my favorite shows has been Ice Road Truckers. It’s the perfect viewing when it’s 100+. I love to shiver in the cold, even though it’s over 80 in my house (with a/c running…). This was the first Carlisle truck that wasn’t going the opposite direction of us and that I could get a picture of. Here’s my favorite IRT, Alex: http://www.iceroadtrucker.ca/

Leave a Reply

