Our Great Adventure!

You’re going to WHAT???

Image

That’s what Mom said when I told her our plans to drive to Alaska. Yes, Alyeska, the greatland, the last frontier. An awe inspiring 3,7000 MILES from here!

I know what you’re thinking, “No, really . . . what are you doing this summer???” And you are right in questioning both our plan. . . and our sanity. But, we’re going.  Not only will this be a grand adventure but it will likely be our last chance for a long vacation with Rebecca as her school schedule really kicks into high gear next summer with rotations.

Something like this.

alaska trip

In a nutshell, we’re going to drive from Arizona all the way to Alaska and back. We’ve talked about it for years but it’s so far and Bob never can take enough time off of work. Until I figured it out. The kids and I will drive to Seattle and Bob will fly in to meet us then we’ll drive up and back, dropping Bob off at Salt Lake to fly home. Maximize our travel time and it will all be doable. Why didn’t I think of this before?

Oh, and did I say tent?

100_1050

We decided we’ll try tenting at least some of the trip. Yes, tenting is new to our family. Other than sleeping in the back yard neither of the kids has had much desire to live the wilderness life, let alone use an outhouse… One of my friends recommended we do a test run. That would be smart, but I don’t think we’ll try. Still, after reading about bears though Bob says if we should encounter one it will be hotels the rest of the way…and price won’t matter.

Okay, so here’s where you come in… if you are in line on our route either via Seattle or the return through Yellowstone  area we want to see you. Just let me know. Also, if you have advice or recommendations we want to hear from you. What’s the best bug spray, bear repellent, leech remover??? I’m not planning to take my snake bite kit but what else will we need?

I did already buy this year’s Milepost (for you non AlCan travelers, this is an annual book with mile by mile details of the road, attractions, lodging etc.) The last time I traveled the road I was six and my biggest memory is not of the AlCan but of crossing into Michigan on the Mackinac Bridge while twisting a comb into my hair effectively snarling my hair so much that Mom had to cut it out (hence my bangs in second grade).

The top picture is Matthew, who quickly claimed the Milepost and apparently has been waiting for just this opportunity as he has been pouring over the book since it arrived. You are probably asking how Matthew will do on the trip. Honestly, I can say, I don’t know. But I think he will adjust. We have traveled far before. But never slept in a tent before. We will all be together and I am certain Matthew will see that all his most important treasures are packed.

So that’s my news for today. Of course, I will take you along with us right here, though to save the house from burglars most of the trip may well be tape delayed. But if you are on the route we hope you will speak up so we can stop for a short visit!

More details soon!

Leave a Reply

